How can a DoD Contractor become CMMC Certified in 2022?

You’ve undoubtedly already applied for Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification if you’re a US Department of Defense vendor. The CMMC solution program assesses an enterprise security maturity and determines if a firm’s security policies comply with government requirements.

The CMMC adherence standards intersect the DFARS compliance program, covering systems managed by or for a contract, such as defense data collection, preservation, and dissemination.

It’s critical to understand the distinctions between CMMC and DFARS compliance. You must also complete the following procedures to become CMMC certified:

  1. Ensure that the NIST 800-171 standard is followed.

Begin by confirming that your company complies with NIST SP 800-171. The NIST SP 800-171 is a set of cybersecurity parameters for securing controlled unclassified information developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (CUI). In terms of establishing security controls, official publications such the NIST SP 800-171 are equivalent to the CMMC regulations. As a result, complying with NIST SP 800-171 will bring you one step closer to CMMC compliance.

  1. Align your schedules to the CMMC Cybersecurity timeframes.

You should have figured out what degree of CMMC maturity your company is at by now. Maturity levels in the CMMC show a contractor’s capacity to comply with CMMC standards based on predetermined controls.

Understanding your maturity level can help you organize your certification procedure in accordance with the CMMC’s suggested timeline:

The following CMMC data will be issued in January 2020:

  • CMMC levels
  • Criteria for each level
  • Training resources from independent CMMC certifiers and Third Party Assessment Organizations (3PAO)

Assessors get CMMC accreditation training from February to May 2020 in order to execute evaluations and comprehend the criteria for all CMMC maturity stages.

Vendors’ requests for proposal (RFP) and requests for information (RFI) are authorized depending on their CMMC accreditation from June through September 2020. Only a small number of vendors will be chosen for preliminary CMMC compliance requirements audits at this time.

From October 2020 onwards, contractors’ and subcontractors’ qualifications to be accepted for a DoD contract will be determined by possessing the relevant CMMC maturity level accreditation.

  1. Get to know Third-Party Assessment Organizations .

3PAOs, which are companies certified to do security evaluations on cloud-based systems, must sign off on your CMMC maturity.

Even if you perform your organizational evaluations and install security measures that comply with CMMC requirements, you’ll still need a 3PAO to help you with compliance. It’s critical to get to know these evaluators since they’ll be evaluating the circumstances at your desired maturity level, and many of them will also be assessing vendors for NIST adherence.

The Department of Defense may conduct assessments for high-level CMMC certifications in exceptional cases. If you’ve been assigned to this category, work with inspectors from the Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA) or the Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency (DCSA).

  1. Determine your company’s degree of CMMC cybersecurity compliance.

Contractors for a project will be chosen by government authorities, as will firms that fulfill the project’s security requirements. Contracts will only be given to firms that have reached the necessary degree of CMMC readiness. That’s why businesses must comprehend the five stages of CMMC adherence and how each one builds on the preceding levels’ foundations.